2015/16 International Woolmark Prize global finalists announced

24 July 2015

The Woolmark Company is proud to announce the 12 global finalists who will compete for the 2016 International Woolmark Prize.


The nominees for the menswear category, to compete next January at Pitti Uomo in Florence, are:

  • Munsoo Kwon (Asia)
  • P.Johnson (Australia)
  • Agi & Sam (British Isles)
  • Jonathan Christopher (Europe)
  • Suketdhir (India, Pakistan and Middle East)
  • Siki Im (USA)

The nominees for the womenswear category, to compete in New York in February, are:

  • J Koo (Asia)
  • Bianca Spender (Australia)
  • Teatum Jones (British Isles)
  • Nanna van Blaaderen (Europe)
  • Taller Marmo (India, Pakistan and Middle East)
  • Tanya Taylor (USA)

For the next six to seven months the winning designers will be required to develop a capsule collection in Merino wool, to be showcased at one of two extraordinary events that will highlight the six menswear finalists and six womenswear finalists selected from across the globe.

The finalists will compete for the coveted International Woolmark Prize, the winners being awarded AU$100,000 and the opportunity to be stocked in the most important retailers of the world, including Harvey Nichols (London), 10 Corso Como (Milan, Beijing and Shanghai), (online), (online), Saks Fifth Avenue (NYC), Joyce (China), Boutique 1 (UAE) and David Jones (Australia).

"The International Woolmark Prize is a truly global celebration of emerging talent," explained Stuart McCullough, Managing Director of The Woolmark Company. "The competition not only allows the participating designers to share their vision on the world stage, it provides them with the opportunity for far-reaching commercial success. We congratulate all 12 finalists in securing a spot to go through to the finals and support them in their preparations for the events."

The International Woolmark Prize expresses a long-lasting commitment by the Australian wool industry to support creativity and young designers –  a mission that started in 1953 with the launch of the International Wool Secretariat awards, the second edition being won by two young designers, Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent.

Read more about the 2015/16 International Woolmark Prize finalists.